Indian Premier League Awards Explained

The Indian Premier League is the most expensive and most popular league in cricket. Yet Indian fans don’t understand the plethora of awards given away in this cash-rich league. Players not only get the Player of the Match award, but there are awards like Orange and Purple caps, Most Valuable Player (MVP), Fair Play awards etc.

Who will win the Orange Cap and Purple Cap in the IPL 2024 season? Predict and win big cash prizes from an IPL betting platform during this IPL.

Complete List of IPL Awards Explained

Winning an award at the end of the season indicates that a player or a team did something well consistently. Be it the Orange Cap or Fair Play award, it has its value in the league. Here’s a brief look at the various end of the season awards in IPL:

Player of the Match:

It is handed to the best performer in an IPL match. It can be a batter or a bowler who has turned the game on its head solely based on his skills. This award is given after each IPL match.

Orange Cap:

The Orange Cap recognizes the highest run scorer in a particular IPL season. Mostly, a top-order batter usually gets this award. Australia’s David Warner ( and the West Indies’ Chris Gayle have won the award multiple times.

Purple Cap:

The Purple cap is awarded to the top wicket-taker in an IPL edition. Surprisingly, pacers have won the award most times. Legendary Dwayne Bravo (2013 and 2015) and India’s Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2016 and 2017) have won the award twice.  

Most Sixes:

The most sixes award is given to a player who has hit the most sixes in a season. Chris Gayle has won the award multiple times. He is also the only player to hit 50-plus twice in a season.

Most Fours:

As the name suggests, this award goes to the batter with the most boundaries in the season. In 2023, Shubman Gill was the recipient of this award.

Most Valuable Player:

From the 2013 season, IPL added the Most valuable Player award, replacing the Player of the Series award. It recognizes both batting and bowling performances in a season. West Indies duo Sunil Narine (2012 and 2018) and Andre Russell (2015 and 2019) have won the award twice.

Emerging Player:

The Emerging Player Award goes to youngsters who have impressed in that particular season. A player must be under 25 years,  played less than 25 IPL matches, and shouldn’t have won the award previously to be eligible. In 2023, Yashasvi Jaiswal was the Emerging Player award winner.

Best Catch of the Season:

It is an honour reserved for fielders who have taken exceptional catches in the season. Rashid Khan won the award in the IPL 2023 season for the magnificent catch in the match against Lucknow Super Giants.

Fair Play Award:

The Fair Play award is given to the team that has adhered to the “spirit of cricket” during the entire season. It recognizes a team’s conduct on the field. Each team is assessed by the on-field umpires in this regard and given points. Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings have won the award many times.

Electric Striker of the Season:

A player with the highest strike rate with a minimum of 100 balls played during the season receives the Electric Striker of the Season award. In 2023, this award went to Royal Challengers Bangalore batter Glenn Maxwell.  

Longest Six of the Season:

This award goes to the player who has hit the longest six in a season. In 2023, RCB’s Faf du Plessis won the award after hitting a 115-meter six against Lucknow Super Giants.

Apart from these season ending prizes, awards like Catch of the Match, Longest Six, Most Fours, Valuable Asset of the Match, Gamechanger of the Match, Electric Striker of the Match, etc., are given after each match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *